2015 BPTAC Award Winners Announced

April 9, 2015

The Space Coast Transportation Planning Organization (SCTPO) presented the annual Bicycle, Pedestrian and Trails Advisory Committee (BPTAC) Awards at the April 9, 2015 TPO Board meeting. BPTAC Awards are given to individuals or organizations that have excelled in promoting safe bicycling and walking in the community.

This year’s recipients are:

The Valerie Harville Education Award – Manatee Elementary teacher Tabitha Best and Tropical Elementary teacher Andrew Klausman

Outstanding Accomplishments in EncouragementGrant-Valkaria Town Council and University Park Elementary Principal Donna Entsminger

Get on a Trail Award – Canaveral National Seashore Superintendent Myrna Palfrey and Merritt Island National Wildlife Refuge Manager Layne Hamilton

Lifetime Achievement Award – City of Cape Canaveral Mayor Rocky Randels

About the Bicycle, Pedestrian and Trails Advisory Committee:
The BPTAC reviews SCTPO plans and policies regarding bicycle, pedestrian and multi-use trail projects and serves an advisory role to TPO Board and the Bicycle and Pedestrian Education Program.  Members represent a wide array of interested groups and citizens. Meetings are generally held the third Monday of the month at 5:30 pm, as needed.

About the Space Coast Transportation Planning Organization:
The SCTPO is responsible for reviewing and administering all policies and procedures applicable for state and federal transportation funding.